Claudio Abbado Konzert: Chaos + Ekstase

Friday, 02. November 2018, 19:30

Musikverein, Großer Saal
Musikvereinsplatz 1
1010 Wien

Hans Joachim Hespos © Rainer Koehl

In a concert that begins with Chaos (Joseph Haydn) and ends with Ecstasy (Alexander Scriabin), the RSO Vienna Radio Symphony Orchestra under Duncan Ward will perform three major world premieres. The British conductor, who this year conducted Stockhausen’s »Gruppen« to great critical acclaim alongside Sir Simon Rattle and Matthias Pintscher in London and Lucerne, is still only 28 years old. And the three refreshingly unconventional composers whose new works are being performed have a combined age of 251 – and probably just as many quirks and idiosyncrasies. With every new piece, Friedrich Cerha explores new territory. A student of Stockhausen and Nono, Nicolaus A. Huber is always good for a surprise – this time with jokes by the Austrian-Pakistani human rights activist, writer and Islam critic, Sabatina James. Hans-Joachim Hespos is possibly one of the most inspirational rebels of his generation. Born in East Friesland and based in Bremen, the composer, who turns 80 this year, returns to Vienna’s Musikverein for the first time since the scandal he caused as a 32-year-old in 1970. In line with the thinking of the festival’s founder, Claudio Abbado, the concert promises to take you on a star-studded adventure featuring a humble cake tin as solo instrument and this year’s Erste Bank Prize Winner Agata Zubel as soprano soloist. Her performance of the final »shrieking scream« of the Hespos premiere promises to be as viscerally gripping as Duncan Ward’s reading of the last piece in the concert, Scriabin’s momentous »Poème de l’Extase«.


ORF Radio-Symphonieorchester Wien, Orchester

Tim Schomacker, ImprovisierSchrank

Agata Zubel, Sopran

Duncan Ward, Dirigent


Joseph Haydn

Die Vorstellung des Chaos (Einleitung zu »Die Schöpfung« Hob. XXI/2) (Text: anonym, nach John Milton) (1796-1798)

Nicolaus A. Huber

... der arabischen 4 (2017) UA

Kompositionsauftrag von Wien Modern, RSO Wien und hr-Sinfonieorchester

Friedrich Cerha

Drei Situationen für Streichorchester (2016-2017) UA


Hans-Joachim Hespos

tapis fou. Symphonische Szene für Sopran, ImprovisierSchrank und ausgeräumtes Orchester mit Gelegenheitsdirigent (2016) UA

Kompositionsauftrag von Wien Modern

Alexander Skrjabin

Le poème de l'extase op. 54 (1905-1908)


Produktion Wien Modern, Koproduktion RSO Wien


Friday, 02. November 2018

Claudio Abbado Konzert: Chaos + Ekstase

The performance has already taken place.

Festival pass accepted
Ticket prices: € 25,-

The Festival pass is valid
50% discount for youth members of Wiener Konzerthaus or Musikverein, school children, students, apprentices and servicemen not older than 26 (1 ticket)
10% discount for members of Ö1 Club (2 tickets)


Wien Modern
Lothringerstraße 20
1030 Vienna

Tel.: +43 1 24200